Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they do not do well at school.

A question central to today's educational debate is either tertiary education should be only offered for students with top marks or all people, regardless of age and academic performance, should be given this opportunity. I will discuss both views and give my opinion in the following essay. Firstly, high school students those graduates with flying colours are more deserved to attend educational institutions as their grades imply their superior academic skills. Compared to their peers, they are much better with exceptional academic ability, interpersonal skills, and memory which enables them to handle the heavy workload and pressure at university as well as rarely find themselves out of their depth. Moreover, university life is not intended for those who are not well-prepared. In Vietnam, the drop-out rate a higher education is shown to correlate with the lack of ability, skills, and even preparation for studying at higher levels. Gifted students, however, are instilled the value of learning so soon that they self-prepare everything such as time managing, critical thinking, and analyst skills for the life at university. Thus, they are deserved with this chance. On the other hand, there is a aforementioned idea that it is unrealistic and unreasonable to now allow all people of all ages and academic levels to go to college. Since success cannot be determined by age or a personal's intellectual potential, there is no reason to refuse them acquire necessary skills and knowledge for their future career. In some majors requiring both depth-thinking and life experiences, such as psychology and education management, the old might do even better than the top students since they have more experiences with practical situations they mention about. An academic degree, is also a guarantee for job prospects and career security since recruiters always prioritize on choosing applicants with formal qualifications. Therefore, allowing them to attend college and gaining a degree will give them a chance to a brighter future. To summarize, although providing higher education only for high marks people is advantageous, I still support the idea that providing it for all people is more just and beneficial.