Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don’t really need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

While it is thought by some that people would buy unnecessary products due to the advertisement’s influence, others consider that advertising informs the public about the alternatives which may make their lives more prosperous. From my perspective, advertising should be regulated to maximize its benefits. On the one hand, to promote a product, companies use celebrities to manipulate the public. To illustrate, stars are glamorous, and they have an enormous influence on people. They aim to persuade the audience that buying this product, will make them happier as it made them. Consequently, many people would blindly believe these products and their benefits as advertised, even without doing a proper study about the product’s ingredients and reviews. On the other hand, without advertising people would have fewer choices. Through advertisements, companies can tell people about their products, services and even modified ones which may be changed to ease lives. For instance, most people use cell phones, but new types and modifications of phone’s service become available all the time. Thus, by advertisements, people would be up-to-date with any new which could improve their lives. Finally, in my opinion, advertisements are an essential part of modern business and should be controlled properly. Governments can enforce strict rules on advertisers as providing a complete image of the product and censor products that are harmful. For example, advertising should not be marketed in a way that attracts children and women; otherwise, it would be banned. Furthermore, every person should be aware of differentiating useful and useless products; therefore, they would only buy their essential requirements. To conclude, advertisements are a double-edged sword. They should be monitored to accomplish beneficial purposes which can enhance people’s lifestyle.