Some people believe that traditional music album and single consumption is vital for the music industry. On the other hand, others think that digital streaming and downloading play bigger roles.

The music industry, as many others, has been subjected to many changes in the ways its services and songs are consumed. It is considered by many that physical albums and singles are crucial for the music business while there are others who think that digital consumption is more important. In my opinion, I think that buying music is essential for keeping the market alive, whether it is a physical or digital release. On the one hand, physical CDs are still important contributors for the development of the music industry. They have been a reliable source of income for record companies, artists, producers and alike, which works as a driving force so they can continue delivering quality work. Even when there has been a continue decrease in sales, albums provide customers who are sceptical of new technologies the opportunity to still buy their favorite CD. All in all, CDs offer artists credibility, and they still have an audience and a market that generates big revenue. On the other hand, music streaming and downloading services also provide many benefits. Since their inception, these formats have revolutionized music by offering listeners the opportunity to buy it from their comfort of home, or even from places where physical copies are usually difficult to find. In addition, streaming platforms, such as YouTube or Spotify, could provide less known artists with more exposure to the general public, thus, boosting their records, singles and concert ticket sales. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both ways make the music industry a profitable business, even if the digital era is replacing traditional sales. This trend is expected to continue to rise in the upcoming years; however, people should make sure they purchase music and avoid piracy in order to support artists.