Some people believe that to give opportunities to the new generation companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire.

According to some people, organizations should encourage their senior employees to retire early so that young people can have more job opportunities. In my opinion, this strategy might benefit young job aspirants; however, it will be detrimental for the company. Senior employees have invaluable experience and for this reason companies should encourage them to stay. Of course, if seasoned workers retire earlier, more young people will get employment. However, this does not always benefit the company. The higher level employees have superior skills and experience that new workers lack. As some of them have worked in the same company for more than two or three decades, they are familiar with the day-to-day operations of the company and their expertise makes them a valuable asset. Consequently, their retirement will result in the loss of a great pool of talented workers and the company will suffer huge losses. There are people who argue that recruiting more youngsters can help companies save money as the salary of experienced workers is exceptionally high. For example, the salary of an employee working at a managerial level may be thrice as much as that of an entry level employee. While this may be true, the retirement of experienced employees will lead to a talent crunch that eventually affects the bottom line of the company. What’s more, if high level workers retire, there will not be enough experienced workers to provide training to the newly hired employees. Without the intensive guidance and supervision of their mentors, new employees will not be able to hone their skills. Gradually, the company will lose productivity and revenue. To conclude, while some people may suggest that senior workers should retire at an earlier age to give more opportunities to the younger ones, I do not agree with this argument as their retirement means a tremendous loss to the companies.