Some people believe that in order to give opportunities to new generation, companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Why?

It is true that nowadays, a lot of enterprises encourage qualified old employees to retire to make up room for the young ones. In my opinion, this decision is absolutely misguided. There are some indisputable advantages of having older people working for companies. The main benefit is that they have a huge amount of experiences which have been accumulated during over a decade. Thanks to their life capital and experiences, they will have enough abilities and skills to face harsh responsibilities and solve awkward problems in their firms as well. Another perk is most of old workers have strong professional networks and client networks because they have built work relationships and cooperated with a lot of counterparts for a long time. Therefore, they are likely to not only help companies have chance to affiliate with others but also increase selling products of firms in which they are working for. In contrast, young people tend to lack much knowledge for their career path compared to old people. Firstly, they lack of skills which are necessary for their jobs and the relationship with colleagues. Thus, they are possible to not complete all assigned tasks and fail to handle pressure. For example, many young employees quit because of the inability to cope with the cramped workload and work condition. Secondly, young people lack of stability because they have no clear vision of their career. They are willing to switch to other companies which offer them better opportunity without thinking about their old one. This will be a huge loss to the organization since their effort and time invested in training for young workers are not profitable. In conclusion, I firmly believed that employers should keep their proficient old workers to contribute to their companies and help them prosper.