In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine.

In the world of today, some people are of the opinion that animals should no longer be used and killed for food, fashion or medical industries. I find this idea partly agreeable as there is still a need to use animals in different purposes of life. On the one hand, people have their valid points to prove for the unnecessarily of killing and abusing animals for industries. It is undeniable that the world is significantly developing and we have found alternative ways to produce food. For instance, scientist recently have come up with plan-based meat and artificial meat that contains an equal amount of nutrition, such as fat, protein or vitamins, compared to regular meat. If we can produce and expand the use of this invention in mass scale, butchers and cattle will no longer be needed and animals can have their free lives like they used to have before in the ecosystem, and actually deserves for that. Regarding the aspect of clothing production, using artificial fabrics from plants and chemicals for daily clothes has been increasingly popular. In fact, not only man-made garments are sustainable to use, but it is also has definitely better outlook, in comparison with ones made from animals’ fur and skin. Concerning the medical perspective, Artificial Intelligent has been largely developed to a level that it can help humans to analysis and evaluate side effects and the safety level; therefore, animal testing is unnecessary. Furthermore, traditional medicines made from animals like cobra or rhino’s horn have been proved by specialists and scientists to be useless and have no actual benefits. On the other hand, animals are still useful to be use to produce products serving human daily lives. First of all, meat-eaters make up 70% of the world population, so a ban on killing animals for meat seems to be unreasonable. Also, as if millions of butchers and cattle were not allowed to milk their cash cows, they would be pushed to unemployment with millions of people losing their job and being unable to make end meets. Next, in the fashion industry, some areas with extreme weather like North America or African still need to use animals’ skin and fur to prevent themselves from the deadly cold and hot weather. For example, in Canada, although people are aware of the cruelty of killing gooses for fur to make winter jackets, they still have no choice but using it, due to its irrefutable effectiveness. Lastly, in the medical aspect, there is no doubt that animal testing is still necessary as it helps human to ensure that new treatments are safe to use with no side effects or risks. It is undoubtedly true that humans should be prioritized over animals and it is better to have an animal suffer, rather than a human to die. In conclusion, although abusing animals for the production of food, clothing and medicine are considered to be cruel, we still need to keep doing it as humans’ lives still depend heavily on those activities.