Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and they should not pay tax to the state.

Tax is the main source of income for the central government and the economy of the nation is highly dependent on it. Every citizen of a country contributes to it in various ways like Income and Goods and service sales excise. However, few people advocate that we should not pay any money. In my opinion, money is essential for the development of a country and cannot be avoided. This essay will discuss both the views before giving my final verdict on this opinion. Firstly, the government is for the people and by the people. Every individual, as a responsible citizen should contribute to the nation. Their contribution is used by the officials to cater to the basic needs of the people like public transport, healthcare and free education. For example, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister has provided free health care for all residents in the state. Secondly, the revenue generated helps in reducing the gap between the elite class and lower class people. Low income group people are given free subsidiaries, which help them in elevating their standard of living. On the other hand, there are few evidences that currency paid by the people is getting into the wrong hands of politicians and businessmen. For instance, as per the recent survey, Indians have the highest number of accounts in Switzerland, next to Swiss people. In the corruption list, India is among the top ten countries. In addition to it, there are scenarios where the subsidiaries and other state offers are not reaching the needy people. Hence, the people are reluctant to contribute to government and expect the lawmakers to take appropriate actions against the corrupt leaders. To conclude, I opine that tax is mandatory for improving the economy of the country. However, appropriate action has to be taken against the corrupt officials to avoid the misuse of the tax money.