Most people prefer ready to eat meals rather than homemade food these days. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this.

In recent times, preference for fast foods has continuously been on the rise. However, many makes it a preferred choice compared to its alternative, homemade meals, and this essay will explore both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such option. To begin with the positives, a crucial merit is its ability to ease the process of preparation. In other words, it is readily available to service its target audience which in most cases is workers and students. For instance, a woman who wakes up 6am and does home chores along with children's school runs, will be disadvantaged to prepare breakfast. Alternatively, dishes from canteens will be the only way out. Besides providing ease of catering, it is convenient as it gives the opportunity to eat on the go, while also achieving other tasks. Despite these advantages, ready made dishes do present some challenges. This is because the quality of its ingredients may not be fully disclosed and which may be harmful as some caterers may selfishly use unhealthy ingredients to improve the taste or preservation. As a result, this issue has received extensive debates with some linking it to be the major cause of diseases like cancer. Another significant disadvantage to be considered is the erosion of family life. A reason for this is that folks stay out longer since meals can be easily obtained. Consequently, this has led to faster erosion of family ties, a condition which would be preventable if everyone dines inside. In conclusion, snacks have taken precedence over home-prepared cuisine. However, while this paper has discussed simplicity and convenience delicacies from external sources as tremendous advantages, comparison should be made with its disadvantages of non-beneficial preparation components and lost family values to select the most rewarding action.