Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state.

In recent decades, the question of whether or not people should pay taxes has become a topic of discussion. Although some argue that they have the right to keep all the money that they working for, I completely disagree with this view. There are a number of reasons why people should pay taxes to the state. It it evident that in all countries, either developed or developing ones, paying taxes is a civic duty. If a person intentionally avoids paying taxes, chances are he would be fined, or even imprisoned as this acting is deemed illegal. In addition, social welfare that people has been receiving mostly comes from tax revenue. For instance, in order to build public transportation systems that service for citizens, a great deal of money would be required, which inevitably needs the contribution of all individuals. It is also clear that imposing taxes is beneficial to not only individuals, but also society as a whole. First, taxes levied on corporations can facilitate environmental protection. For example, excise tax, such as carbon tax, would act as a deterrent for companies in the mining industry, thereby reducing greenhouse gas emissions and the intensification of global warming. Second, paying taxes can make fairer societies. Since people with higher income have the higher tax rates than ones with less, the gap between rich and poor would be narrowed. In conclusion, each individual should pay tax since it is their obligation. By paying a small part of their incomes, taxpayers could contribute to the society.