Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment.

It is generally accepted by some people that there should be predetermined penalty for every form of unlawful act, while others disagree that the situation of each offence and the reason for performing the act should be considered when applying necessary discipline. In my opinion, there should be established retribution for each illegal act with allowance for exceptions as this will largely reduce crime rate and promote sanity in every community. Some believe that the absence of fix consequence for every offence has largely contributed to the global increase in crime rate. This was supported by the global crime report recently released by Smart Inc. – a US based research firm. The report stated that most of the atrocity committed in the last two decades have no moral justification whatsoever. It further asserted that series of investigations demonstrated that some of the convicted criminals confessed that they were motivated to commit these crimes because of the possibility of escaping the right judgement. On the other hand, another school of thought is of the opinion that the motive behind the act should not be completely separated from the act. This is because, sometimes, the unlawful acts are perpetrated when they are genuinely indisposed to do so. For instance, during a monthly radio crime program in Ghana, a man narrated his ordeal when he was attacked by thieves. He said these men had gained access to his compound with one of them already in his sitting room. Fortunately, while the others were trying to enter, the police men came around after they had been informed and this made the armed men to leave with the exception of one who he eventually killed. Although, he was condemned of murder, he was discharged and acquitted because the police attested to his innocence. In conclusion, I believe that there should be solid charge for every criminal act while provisions are given for certain acts proven beyond reasonable doubt of honesty.