Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

People hold divergent views about punishments when people commit crimes. While I understand the importance of fixed punishments, I believe that courts ought to take account of factors such as circumstances along with motivation when passing a sentence. On the one hand, I will not take issue with the point to create a fixed system of laws which indicates exactly the punishments for each type of crime. This creation will enhance the equality between citizens regardless of who they are. In Vietnam, for example, if officials receive money of their staffs illegally, they could be gone to jail for at least 15 years or even suffering a capital punishment and there is no exception for any position. Besides, it is presumed that stable laws will deprive people of infringing the regulations because people are articulating the punishments they might get. As a result, this could decrease the crime rate. On the other hand, I also believe that the authorities need to consider many factors before deciding on the punishments. Firstly, the circumstances such as the age and the mentality of an individual crime should be included because in some cases people are unable to recognize what they do. To illustrate this case, when people suffer mental problems, they could not control their actions, accordingly, they should be taken to hospitals rather than prisons if they commit a crime. Moreover, courts should take the motivation for committing crime into account as well because offenders might break the rules under some certain pressure. Hence it is necessary to mitigate the punishments for people who do not commit crime on purpose. In conclusion, I assume that it is of great importance to have fixed punishments, nonetheless, the authorities should also consider many elements when make their decisions