Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Many people debate on what should be done about punishment on criminals. Some individuals believe that there should be standard punishment for every kind of crime and that should be followed while sentencing a criminal. Yet, some others argue that reasons of crime and background of executing crime should be considered while determining proper punishment for criminals. This essay will take a look at this issue from both points of views. To begin with, people may agree to impose fixed standard punishment on criminals based on the crime they committed. By doing this, criminals will be punished according to the crime they made and it seems fair for everyone since they believe the bigger the crime, the harder the prison. For example, imposing the death penalty to both murderer and terrorist who have committed to the same type of crime seems reasonable to many people. It is a considerably equal crime and therefore, they should be punished by death sentence. When someone kills a person, no matter what was the reason, s/he should be punished according to the predetermined laws. On the other hand, others argue that in determining the proper punishment for criminals, there should be some considerations of what were the motives of crime and also the background of criminals. There must be different punishment between a serial killer and someone who was forced to kill for self-defending. Applying same punishment to the woman who stole a loaf of bread from a store to feed her hungry baby and a corrupt government employee who stole millions of dollar to amass his wealth is not at all justified though stealing was the crime in both cases. All in all, fixed punishment is needed to standardise punishment for different crimes. Nonetheless, there should be some considerations on motives and environment of criminals in imposing the proper punishment.