In the recent years, the proportion of the world’s population living in cities has increased substantially. People have moved in ever growing numbers from rural to urban areas. As migration from rural areas to cities continues, it is inevitable that the infrastructure on these cities will collapse.

Today, people’s lifestyles have fundamentally been changed by urbanisation. It is believed that these alterations have had some positive influences; however, I personally think that their drawbacks will become far influential. On the one hand, migration of rural residents into cities has had two important advantages on infrastructures. One is that constructions have been more developed. To build more high-rise buildings, construction developers have invested more in cities than the rural areas, leading citizens to access to stronger residential premises in urban areas. As a prime example, in Los Angeles, immigration of villagers has caused many investors to spend their money and develop more Skyscrapers, and LA citizens have access to more equipped apartments. Furthermore, transportation has been improved dramatically. Governments have had to provide more bus or train as more people have moved from suburbs to cities; therefore, the quality of infrastructures in transportation has gradually been raised. In particular, in Vancouver, mass migration of villagers has led the administration to consider more funds for the upgrading of transport systems in the downtown area. On the other hand, I personally believe that it could be like a tip of an iceberg if we only consider the positive influences, and the negative consequences should be figured out. One reason behind it is that more agricultural lands will be degraded. Clearly, the more buildings are built, the more farmlands vegetations and woods will be ruined, and soil will be eroded. For instance, in Tehran, the Capital city of Iran, construction of more residential structures has tremendously changed the natural habitat. Many of agricultural lands have been eroded, and if this method continues, more farmlands will be destroyed by these constructions. In addition, freshwater resources will be contaminated. In this case, had not more rural households moved to New York, less freshwater would have been ruined. Unfortunately, mass immigration of people to cities will cause more freshwater plants and animals to be death in the future. In conclusion, although urbanisation might have had some positive influences on some important infrastructures of cities, its drawbacks should not be forgotten. From my point of view, if this pattern continues, more freshwater resources and farmlands will be demolished. If I were a governor, I would consider more restrictions on these changes.