Young drug abuse is a serious problem nowadays in many countries. What are the reasons for this and what can be done to control it?

Today, juveniles consume more illegal drugs than in the past. They have a better access to more variety of opioid or non-opioid materials and use them far more remarkably. From my point of view, two important reasons have made this problem, and several practical implementations must be considered by governments to tackle it. To begin with, one leading reason why youth use more illicit drugs is that these materials have become more accessible than before. Obviously, drug dealers have expanded their territories in many countries, like Columbia in the South America or Afghanistan in Asia, and their control has become far more challenging than in the past. To address this problem, the best option is consideration of more severe charges for those selling these dreadful products. In this case, in some countries, leaders of this system are charged with lifetime probation, or even in other countries, including Iran, they may face capital punishment. Therefore, these severe penalties can partly be helpful to control the expansion of illegal drugs’ industries, and young generation will be less exposed to these perilous substances. Another factor is accessing of the public to more different types of these substances. Admittedly, advancement of technology has led more synthetic goods are generated and cheaper artificial drugs are to be produced. For instance, Crack, which is a synthetic form of Heroin, is more available to the public than the other former natural opioid, leading adolescents or teens are able to pay better for it. Had not this non-natural material become so available, fewer people would have been addicted. To solve this, one important step is increasing the budget of healthcare. Definitely, many users do not have thorough information about the devastating side effects of these drugs while having a better control on this age group, healthcare staff will be able to recognise better those individuals consuming these drugs and inform them how they can avoid using them. In conclusion, now youth have access to more illicit drugs than before. Propagation of dealers’ function and variation of these materials are two important reasons behind it. I think consideration of more severe law enforcement and having a better consultation of young people are two phenomenal actions to address it.