Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value.

The purpose of films has been a matter of considerable controversy in today's world as people's opinions diversify into a source of entertainment and a way of education. While I accept that there are different intentions of making films, I would argue that it is better to make film with educational purpose. On one hand, people who support the statement above argue that films which contain amusing plot help reduce their stress and create delightful moments. It is due to the fact that those who suffer a lot from working and studying often look for a solution with the purposes of releasing tension and recharging their energy. For instance, I often go to the cinema to watch cartoons or romantic movies when I feel stressful. In the past, comedies were considered the greatest kind of entertaining with amusing plot, and hilarious acting. Meanwhile, in the modern world, it is reported that men and women often choose romantic and sci-fi films to see because most of those are appealing and intriguing. In addition, watching entertaining films might improve one's personality, which encourages positive thoughts and humorousness. On the other hand, it seems to me that films should include educational values because of some deniable benefits for both movie makers and the audiences. Firstly, young people can still obtain knowledge and broaden their mind during movie time. In some circumstances, whatever film they watch, people learn involuntarily in unconsciousness because they have create a habit of absorbing new things while watching movies. Secondly, films with enlightening content are believed to have been an effective way to raise people's awareness about social problems. Not only benefit audiences, films produced as a mean of education also benefit the film-makers. In particular, messages delivered through the films determine the rate of their movies. Indeed, films included educational values are often receive top-rate and the boom in revenues of ticket sales. To some extents, I personally assume that whether a film is entertaining or not depends on different people's interests and points of view because watching films is one's own decision. In conclusion, even though there are some benefits of films with entertaining purposes, I believe that films should include educational values due to the aims of raising people's knowledge and awareness about the society, as well as increasing films' revenues and improving film-makers’ reputation.