Some people believe that the internet has brought people closer together by making the world smaller. Others disagree, claiming that the internet has made people and communities more isolated because they no longer need to leave home and interact with oth

No need to say, in today’s world the internet has affected people’s lives worldwide. Now, some people claim that the internet has brought people together by shrinking the distance between them, however, others counter the opposite view by stating that it has disengaged people because they do everything by internet without any interaction with others. Both views have merits as will be demonstrated in the following essay. First, the internet has made it more convenient for people to do meaningful works for each other which brings them closer to one another. To clarify, the internet is used as a helpful instrument in variety aspects of today’s people’s daily life, developing business, sharing ideas, providing information, and most importantly recognizing other’s pain. To concentrate on later mentioned concern, there are many institutions and campaigns working in the line of helping humans, in which case, communication network can become vital-useful. To illustrate, when an earthquake happens, its news spreads online, thus, individuals and campaigns can help those people by transferring money or goods just by browsing in the charity websites. For example, I remember the earthquake of Varzaghan --one of the cities of Tabriz in Iran--it was unbelievable how people all around the world volunteered to help afflicted people after a few hours; although the real distance between them was thousands of miles, but their heart was very close because of the internet. Had not been the internet, probably people would have been homeless for months. That being said, some people consider that clicking on the button is a means to apart people from each other. In other words, of course social media, online shops, and other activities which are internet-based can impact people' s lives adversely by prolonging their distance. Considering online markets, when a hypothetical person purchases his jeans, food, drink, shoes just by navigating through the internet, he would not come face-to-face with the people around him because his needs are home just by clicking some buttons! . Meanwhile, it can impact him habitually, lessen his tendency to direct communication, and as a result make him separate from others. To sum up, cyberspace can not only bring people to each other meaningfully but also disconnect them in the real world at the same time. Thus, it is up to everyone to decide their engagement and amount of being on the internet.