Some people believe that the government should ban dangerous sporting activities while others think that people have the freedom do whatever sports they choose.

Activities, as it is said, keep a person young and energetic. It is in tune with it that a person must always keep oneself occupied with an activity of any sort. Sporting activity is one of many activities which pay no heed to the age barrier. As a matter of fact, sporting activities contribute a lot towards the physical fitness, mental ability / balance and overall characteristic of an individual. However, a ‘dangerous’ sporting activity must be undertaken by an individual with an extra caution. Though a dangerous sporting activity is generally performed due to a sudden rush of adrenalin but the consequences of such an activity are not reasonably positively skewed. The probability of an untoward incident, while performing a dangerous sporting activity, is always high. It is due to this reason that State interference, to a reasonable extent, is welcome. The activities which are more skewed towards the possibility of a fatal accident must be regulated and consequently banned by the government. However, there is another school of thought which is on the view that individuals must be accorded the freedom to choose the sport according to their wishes. The ideology of the followers of this school of thought is that the individual is matured enough to understand what is more beneficial to him. However, they fail to look beyond the veil, probably reason due to which an individual undertakes the performance of such dangerous acts. The reasons may vary from peer pressure, family circumstances, financial needs or just momentary pleasure. Whatever may be the reason, an individual must not be given the liberty to put his life, and consequently the life of his dependents, at risk. The fortnightly sports magazine, The Risktakers, did share the views of the son of the famous skydiver, Peterson, who met with an accident while trying to attempt skiing after getting himself released from the parachute at a height of only 15 feet above the ground level. Yet another interview with the daughter of another renowned sports person, Robinson, revealed the sad story wherein after the death of his paratrooper father, it became difficult for her to make her both ends meet during her teenage. The only reason for the death of her father was that he wanted to set a record of jumping from an unbelievable height. In the end, I am of the opinion that there should be the complete ban on the dangerous sporting activities as it is the survivors of the deceased who has to pay a heavy price for the acts of their mentors.