Some parents are worried about the increasing level of violence in TV, videos games & other types of entertainment for children’s leisure. How does this affect children? How do you think problem can be tackled?

The effect of violence in children's entertainment materials is making parents worried about its effect on them. I think it adversely impacts a child's psychology and increases the chance of having violent tendencies among them. To tackle the problem children should be encouraged to take part in better alternatives such as sports and arts. Firstly, children who are exposed to violent content from an early age can start to develop a violent frame of mind and start to consider violence as a means to their problems. This can lead to a lack of empathy for their peer as well. Most importantly, their violent tendency may manifest in real-life action as they grow up and even can affect how they behave with their own children as they themselves become parents. Engaging in sports not only keeps them physically fit but also makes them mentally strong. Especially group sports such as cricket or football encourages teamwork and encourages brotherhood and empathy. Even non-physical games such as chess help improve memory and concentration among children and encourage critical thinking. Children who are not into physical activity can also take up art to keep themselves busy in their leisure time. Activities such as painting, singing or debating also help children improve their soft skills and have a positive frame of mind. To conclude, I believe parents should take more notice of how their children pass their leisure time avoiding future complications in their behaviour. Managing their source of entertainment and encouraging a healthier alternative can help them give their children a more positive outlook on life.