The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that it will lead English to become the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Nowadays, people travel to and fro to explore different cultures and traditions of other nations. When tourists visit any city, they talk in the English language. While some people believe that it will make English only language of communication, as such, having a single language has both merits and demerits. There are two main advantages of having one global language, easy to communicate and it boosts the economy of the nation. When tourists travel to another country, they interact with local people easily if there is one language spoken globally. For example, travelers gain knowledge of local history, since English is spoken all around the world. Moreover, becomes easy for them to stay there for a longer period. Another reason is that single removes all the barriers of communication, so, two nations can easily trade with each other. Thus, it will boost the economy of the country. Besides, some people, including myself, think that it will diminish all other local languages. With the vanish of regional languages, local culture and history also die. Furthermore, there will be no point in visiting other nations when there is no difference between cultures. Hence, people will not visit any region and eventually, the tourism industry will die. For instance, nowadays, nobody knows the ancient encryptions, so it becomes difficult to understand their traditional and ethical values. To conclude, while there are benefits of having one global language, tourists can communicate efficiently with residents, while, it will be at the cost of regional cultural and traditional values. In my opinion, maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.