Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways.

It’s undeniable that crime of all forms causes innumerable problems to the society, therefore solutions need to be found to tackle it soon. While some people argue that imprisoning criminals for a longer time may effectively lower the crime rate, I believe other feasible solutions are able to deter criminals as well. On the one hand, some people support the view that the incidence of crime can be reduced significantly by forcing offenders to serve a longer prison sentence. This is because the fear of harsher punishment stops people from committing a crime. In the past, some people became involved with crimes as they thought that the sentence was not severe enough. If the offenders were sentenced to a longer prison, potential criminals would probably have given up when they take the higher crime cost into consideration. On the other hand, there are some reasonable and effective measures the government could take to deter crimes. To begin with, the government could implement more preventive measures including increasing the number of police offices on patrol and installing more video cameras in public spaces to curb crime, thus achieving a more peaceful community. Besides, rehabilitation is also of significant help to reduce the possibility of repeated crime. Criminals that have received education or vocational training are prepared for a paid job, from which they get income and self-recognition, to prevent them from re-offending. While longer prison sentence results in lower crime rate, in my opinion, preventive and rehabilitative measures also play an essential part in curbing crimes.