Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences between the richest and the poorest members.

To what extent the rich people are richer than the relatively poorer people would be salient enough to affect people’s perception of whether or not they are leading a happy life? This topic has always been under intensive discussion among researchers from economics and social studies. While I suppose no one would deny the fact that income differences are inevitable in any society due to the differences of contribution made by each individuals, the differences are however, from my point of view, should be kept in a reasonable range or otherwise it would create a series of social problems, namely a less happy society. Although the absolute value of household wealth will directly affect the level of happiness of a family as it determines their disposable amount and therefore their living standard. However, human societies are much more complex than separate individual households. Comparing in between each other is one of the many things that everyone naturally does and may cause emotional consequences if the differences of household wealth are too big. Take the United States for example, it has long been scolded by economists and social scientists that the US societies are stratified into too many levels in which 80% of the wealth is in the hands of only 10% of the entire national population. As a consequence, a lot of the crimes, including kidnap and robbery in particular, would take place because of an ill mindset of revenging to the rich people especially in the communities where larger differences of wealth are spotted. Besides the abovementioned potential emotional impacts, the unreasonably big gaps of social wealth might bring other negative influences, which could be even more profound and detrimental, to the societies. When the majority of the money is in the hands of the top levels of the pyramid in a society, it would jeopardize the rightfulness of the decision making process in the societies in that the policies may favour the rich groups rather than the majority of the populations. Hong Kong is a typical city that is rich and developed in general but suffers from severe inequity of wealth distributions. In recent years in particular, the majorities of the people found the government only made policies that were in favour of the big companies and real-estate industry despite that they might be in conflict with the well-beings of the majority. This has led to a less happy society in Hong Kong, which gave rise to increased protests and even strikes in the affected industries. Although it is unnecessary and unrealistic for societies to eliminate the differences in between the rich people and poorer ones, it does not mean that we should tolerate these differences to be exaggeratively big as it will bring a series of severe social problems that may lead to an unstable and unhappy society.