Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that only small differences between the richest and the poorest members.

Reducing the gap between the rich and poor members of society is considered by some people to be the optimal solution to achieving happiness. Although this method can make people happier by providing equality in societies and eliminating poverty, it is impossible to apply. I disagree with this argument and I believe there are other methods to provide happiness and satisfaction for people. Closing the gap between all members might be detrimental to societies. Firstly, if people in all professions received the same wages, this would promote laziness and individuals would instead pursue easy careers instead of competitive and demanding ones. For instance, people aspiring to become doctors or engineers to receive good salaries can instead work part-time in any industry and still get paid a high salary. Secondly, many people became rich because they worked hard, while many poor people were not born poor and were, in fact, wealthy but they wasted their money. Working hard would not be valued if all people in society were equally privileged. Instead of trying to eliminate the gap between the rich and poor, governments can work on providing more job opportunities. Doing this promotes equality in a more positive way and in many cases, poor individuals can become rich by working hard and demonstrating their talents. Moreover, a happy society highly depends on the services that governments provide for their people. For example, if all countries provided free health care and education for their citizens and developed the infrastructure, its people would certainly become happier. To conclude, governments should focus on taking care of their people by reducing the unemployment rates and subsidizing necessary services for its citizens. These measures are more likely to make people happy than merely trying to promote equality between society members.