Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it could be better to our environment and economic if people only ate local produced food. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, customers consume meals that have transferred thousands of miles away from their producers. Whereas some people assume that it will be great for the environment and economy if people only consume locally produced food. There are benefits and drawbacks to this issue which I will explain in this essay. One evident positive side to transporting food over a long distance is it would enable increasing the interests of customers by providing options of food variety. For instance, people can range fruits or vegetables which infrequently produced in their country, such as kurma is one fruit that comes from Saudi Arabia which commonly preferred and bought in a fasting month even though rarely found in Indonesia. Furthermore, the other benefit is several people could obtain employment. In particular, the farmers have a prospect to expand globally their production and this leads to building a great overall economy by promoting good relations with countries, which helps international partnership and unity. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to importing food. Firstly, imported foods are would able more popular than own local production. However, abundant people claim it has a good impact on economic development, paradoxically present the tight competition in local businesses which offer more affordable products than imported. Therefore, this condition heads to any detrimental of regional enterprises. Secondly, the major excuse to overcome imports is the environmental cost. Currently, various food imports such as vegetables are transported thousands of miles, composing the product more expensive to purchase and raising pollution from exhausted fumes. In summary, there are plus points to importing food that would produce great economic growth by drawing the interest people through offers multiple product options. However, maintaining local products should be prioritized to defend the existing regional business from overseas and conserve a healthy environment.