Some people believe that the advent of economical air travel has been very beneficial by making international travel more accessible, while others argue that it has had a very negative impact.

With the growth of cost-effective air travel, many people think that one of its merits is to allow overseas journey to become more approachable. However, there are a number of arguments that it has some dire consequences. This essay discusses both sides before giving my perspective. On the one hand, cheap air travel provides gold opportunities in the area of business and tourism. It is advantageous and economical for business individuals to attend their meetings or conferences abroad, which contributes to open up international markets and stimulate economic growth. Furthermore, there are an enormous number of visitors travelling to the countries applying money-saving air tickets. To illustrate, the period of five years from 2013 to 2018 witnessed a significant increase in the tourist rates in Vietnam with roughly 6% of the total GDP. On the other hand, the negative aspect to this development is its detrimental environmental costs. Airplanes use huge amounts of fuel, a non-renewable resource. They also emit high levels of carbon dioxide, which is the main factor causing the global warming and increasing greenhouse effect, endangering all life in the world. Additionally, the cost-effective airlines do not have ability to fulfill their customer’s obligations due to the shortages of planes or staffs serviced for the flights resulting in many air travelers have to cope with the flight cancellation or postponement. To sum up, I believe both sides of the arguments have its own appropriate points. Nevertheless, on balance, it seems that it would be beneficial for travelers to be more aware and informed of the true cost of their air travel in relation to the environment and to make their choices accordingly.