People nowadays prefer to interact online (e. g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is argued that people nowadays prefer to interact online rather than talking to other people in real life. There are few reasons for it. It is a more negative development in my opinion. Nowadays, folks prefer to do things online, rather than interacting with others face-to-face. This applies to the people belonging to generation Z (born between 1995 and 2015). It outlines the anti-social behaviour as well. One reason for it is, by not talking face-to-face, a person may express himself better. For example; in our society, the seniors are mostly strict, they are not frank with their juniors, there are a lot of formalities, hence, it is not easy to talk to them face-to-face. So, if a person is chatting online with a senior, then he may be able to express himself and will be able to talk confidently. This is one of the main reasons I have noticed for people preferring online chats over real life encounters. Chatting with other via internet may provided an opportunity for better expressions, but in my opinion it is a negative development overall. If humans do not interact with each other face-to-face, then it kills the joy of social life. Looking at each other, talking to each other in real life, observing changing expressions on human faces can have many effects compared to online chatting where it is difficult to understand emotions. The advancement in technology is one of the main culprits in damaging social lives. In conclusion, online chatting may be easy, it may not require much confidence, but nothing beats the joy of interacting with fellow humans face-to-face.