Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school.

In our modern sophisticated society, ability to speak foreign languages is highly valued more and more. However, while some believe that learning a foreign language should be introduced in elementary schools, I strongly believe that pupils should be taught a foreign tongue in secondary schools. On the one hand, it can be argued that younger children before puberty are often very eager to learn new things without being afraid of making mistakes. As a result, pupils tend to be more generous for peers' mistakes comparing to adolescents who often face peer pressures when it comes to making errors in classes. Moreover, adovocates of the early education of learning languages claim that the earlier school children start to learn a foreign tongue, the more fluent speakers they are most likely to become. Since learning language is such a long process, it is always best to launch as soon as possible according to them. On the other hand, although some people think that young children learn languages better than secondary school students and should be taught as soon as possible, I side with people who feel that teaching a foreign language should be inplemented in secondary education. Firstly, in my opinion, students from elementary schools should concentrate on learning a basic education, such as literacy and numeracy skills, which they will need as a essential lifetime knoledge, while foreign languages are only for people who travel or work abroad. Secondary, another concern to teach foreign languages for elementary students is a confusion between their own mother tongue and the foreign language. Due to the lack of vocabulary in their native language, it will be affect negatively when they learn words in foreign languages. Finally, my strongest argue is that pupils from elementary schools are usually fully committed to basical education. Since they have already a busy academic timetable, they will have no time for extra subjects to learn. In short, although primary school students are more flexible and faster to learn new things, they are most likely to be engaged with fully fixed academic schedules already. Therefore, on balance, I wholeheartedly believe that foreign languages should be taught in secondary schools.