International marketing is sometimes seen as invasive and an intrusion into the country in question. Others argue that it is a necessary and economical form of education in addition to spreading ideas, language, and culture.

Globalization of marketing has already become an inevitable trend of the modern world, so its influence on countries’ lives is clearly seen. Whereas some people find it as threat to a local businesses, others feel that international marketing campaigns could be taken as excellent educational and inspirational examples which would be eventually beneficial for a nation. I partly agree with both sides of this argument. Worldwide companies spend huge amounts of money on promotion of their products, and, indeed, their marketing strategies are usually very successful making them leaders in sales on international markets. Consumers attracted by TV advertisement bright pictures in magazines, and appealing packaging buy their goods forgetting about local brands. For example, everybody knows about McDonald’s and people visit these restaurants quite regularly because of continuous reminders about low prices, delicious food, fast service which are brilliant marketing work. As a result, smaller restaurants could suffer from luck of customers because some individuals even don not know about their existence. In addition, businesses with well known names prevent new small companies from development as they do not have enough money to compete with their powerful marketing campaigns. On the other hand, healthy competition with marketing giants could bring many advantages because smart entrepreneurs could learn from their experience. Of course, international businesses spend plenty of money on research which aimed at finding out a buyer’s needs and, thus, marketing improvement, and these results cold be applied to other businesses which cannot afford such investigations. Moreover, international marketing work as a powerful tool of connection between nations because people could understand and get to know a culture of another country trough products or services which are promoted worldwide. For instance, American fast food restaurants such as McDonalds or KFC could be found almost in any big city around the world; thus their customers could try and feel a traditional North American food and learn some cultural differences. In conclusion, though global businesses could truly interfere with local ones due to their successful marketing actions, I think that the results they show should be taken as good examples for improvement and development of a national marketing.