Some people believe that subjects such as Music, Arts, Drama and Creative Writing will contribute a great deal to children’s development; therefore they should take a large part of the school timetable.

Art has a lot of forms and is considered to be an essential element to be holistically whole as a human person. Ironically, in this modern world, it is not widely encouraged and of less importance in some countries where families are not that open on the concept of it. This essay will explain the two views and my opinion, in line with respective examples on the thought that art is an essential subject for children at school and not a waste of time. First, I believe that art is essential to be a part of school curriculum because it is a mode on how children will learn to express themselves. Singing, painting, and dancing are some examples of these which I think will be important to develop a child’s ego, worth and self esteem. For example, a depressed child can truly denote his or her feelings through painting or song writing. This will serve as a channel to vent out what is bothering him or her inside. Indulging in art is like a form of catharsis wherein you spill out all your emotions out to make u feel better. On the other hand, an added miscellaneous and tuition fee expenses will be a drawback of it putting in school’s curriculum. Although, it is not considered as a substantial subject usually by some schools yet adding this will further result to hire art teachers thus, adding up to the school expenditures in line with salaries. At the same time, schools will ask extra payments to parents in order to compensate the wages for their hired staffs. For instance in my country, parents are protesting to one of the known private schools because of added fees from extracurricular activities such as annual fashion shows and art painting sessions. It will be a disadvantage most especially to families that belongs to the low socio economic status Personally, I am an artist by heart but currently employed as a nurse. Due to my country’s norms and stigma, I was not able to pursue my passion, which is the love of art. As what my parents always say, in art I will not have a better future since I will be earning below average because it is not in demand. In my opinion, I agree that adding art to schools for children to study is better and will yield to good results. Through this way, it can be a form and channel for outlet of unresolved emotions and at the same time unleash their hidden talents