Some people believe that sports should be a compulsory at school, while others believe that it should optional.

Sport has been a field which arouses public attention for a few decades. While it is recommended to be an obligatory subject in training programs for schoolchildren, sport is also argued to be optional by other citizens. On the one hand, there are two major reasons for which schools should adopt a policy forcing children to take up sports. With respect to health, sports are considered to be a helpful physical activity that can tighten our muscles and burn exceeding calories. Therefore, researchers have indicated that if children play sports on a regular basis, they will be less likely to suffer from many dangerous illnesses, such as diabetes, obesity of cardiovascular diseases. In other words, when regarding sports as compulsory subjects, schools will contribute to health promotion for youngsters. With respect to skills, thanks to sports, institutions are able to assure a comprehensive development for students. Indeed, collective sports like football or volleyball are expected to equip children with a whole array of essential interpersonal skills, such as teamwork or leadership, which are often ignored if they learn academic subjects only. On the other hand, others believe that sports should be restricted as an option only due to several causes. Firstly, many sports have a high probability of injuries. Thus, parents often hesitate to allow their children to take up sports since if injuries occur, their academic performances will be negatively influenced or even interrupted. Secondly, sport glorifies victories and superiorities. Therefore, it has been concerned that this will foster competitive spirits, which result in a win-at-all-cost attitude, aggressive behavior or cheating. In conclusion, while making sports compulsory at schools will bring about advantages, it is also understandable if they are only optional.