Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Whether or not to do homework given by teacher to the school students is becoming increasingly controversial. While some parents think that such type of activity puts pressure on children and it is not relevant, others believed that it plays an important role in studies and personal growth. This essay will explain why doing schoolwork is essential, although, there has to be one limit on it. There are various reasons why some parents assume that homework is an unnecessary burden on children. Students get very tired after studying in schools and doing the same study at home make them feel boring and useless. In addition, because of too many assignments, children cannot use their extra and quality times in other activities like sports or any other hobby in which they are interested. For example, it has been observed that many children give up on their dream of becoming a sport player just because of insufficient time they have got to complete their dream. Therefore, parents tend to believe in a fact that such additional exercise is not relevant to their kid’s future. In spite the above arguments, there are numerous advantages of this activity. The major benefit of assignments is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving, as children are challenged to work through tasks alone and at their own pace. In doing so, students must apply the knowledge they have learned in the classroom. For example, by doing mathematics exercise at home, students consolidate their understanding of the concepts taught by their teachers at school. Also, such type of extra exercise will cultivate a regular study habit in students considerably. Hence, there are a number of people, including myself, believe that extra study related work should remain in schools. In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh in the long term. Abolishing such activity is not the solution, instead of this, teachers should reduce the amount of assignments they give.