Some people believe that school children should not be given HOMEWORK by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

There is disagreement about giving homework to children by their teachers, as some believe it should not be given while others believe it has an important role in educating the children. According to me children should be given homework but not from an early childhood as it may make them disinterested in learning. Firstly, not every child will be able to understand everything that is taught in the class quickly and may need to repeat the lessons at home. Some students are low learners and may need additional time to understand any topic. A home setting may give them extra time to learn at their own pace so homework can be given to reaffirm their understanding of the topic and also reinforce their understanding if they have already understood it in class. Secondly, if children are given homework at an earlier age, they may start to resent it as it may lead to them loosing interest in learning. Teachers should only start giving homework to students after a certain age, so that they are allowed to enjoy their stay in the class and not lose out on their childhood. In conclusion, I believe if children are given homework which does not take too much time out of their off school hours, then they will not resent it and can also learn at their own pace. But, children who are too young should not be given homework so that they are able to enjoy their childhood and do not grow any dislike for homework at an early age.