Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Educators often decide whether or not to give homework to their students. In recent years, people believe that homework should not be given whilst others argue that it has a major role in their future education. Both views will be discussed before an opinion is reached. One of the main reasons why parents believe that homework should not be given is due to time. Many believe that instead of spending time on work that could have been done in school children this time could be better spent to broaden their horizons. This could be doing activities such as learning a new instrument or language. Many students do not take up these extra activities as they feel they do not have enough time. However by taking up an extra activity a child will be able to gain a more holistic education which is essential for the future. Arguably, homework can be justified as a means of revision for students. As a child’s mind is still developing, reviewing the work done at school encourages them to remember and review what they have learned at school. For example, students who do not do homework have a harder time remembering what they learned compared to students who have completed the work set by their teachers. Furthermore, the extra work they have at home allows them to develop skills such as self studying and problem solving which is highly needed in the future. In conclusion, although the time used for homework could be used for something else it is an important factor in helping the child review and grow as a person. Therefore I believe that homework is major contributor in the education of a child.