Que: Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is to address it at an international level. with this statement?

Environmental issues are now too huge a problem for individuals and nations to tackle on their own. It has been suggested that international cooperation remains the only route to fight these problems. In as much as I agree that nations need to come together to put an end to these issues, I do not think that it is the only means to solving the problems. Admittedly, collaboration among the different countries of the world is an effective way of combating the menace. This is because global warming, which has resulted from emission of green house gases and depletion of the ozone layer, has cut across the entire globe. Therefore, to forestall this occurrence, all hands need to be on deck to protect the environment. For example, the United Nations organization has called for a forum among all key leaders of the world to reach a consensus and commit themselves on how to save the ozone layer from further depletion by substituting fossil fuels with alternative energy sources. However, as the need arises for nations to join hands together to save the planet from further damage, individuals also need to play their roles. For instance, people can opt for fuel efficient vehicles and power saving household devices to save fuel consumption and eventual fuel combustion which will collectively lessen greenhouse gases production. Furthermore, in a bid to reduce their contribution to pollution, countries on their own can put up policies and legislation against the enormous utilisation of non renewable energy by local industries. Besides this, they can put up measures to control traffic and lessen vehicular queueing on the roads so as to make the air cleaner. In conclusion, while I support that protection of the environment will improve when the world comes together, personal efforts by people and the different governments are also needed to save the planet from further degradation.