Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, others believe that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

In our modern society, it is argued that in schools, homework should not be given to children, while critics say that academic work plays a vital role in learning, and it should not be ignored. Personally, I agree with the latter view, in my opinion, I believe that the positive aspects of this viewpoint surpass the negative sides. In this essay, I shall further analyse both points of view and outline my perspective on this subject. On one hand, there are several advantages in the approach to give homework to school students. Firstly, it is a great way for the teachers to track and monitor the progress of the children. It allows them to make sure that every student is able to understand that is being taught in the class. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University, showed that by solving and engaging in the homework, children are five times more likely to grasp new concepts. These findings further support the theory behind this teaching method. On the other hand, the reasoning behind not giving any school work to complete at home, have some supporting arguments in its favour. To start with, it could reduce the academic stress on the students. In addition, an article published by the Oxford University, revealed that 70% of the school going kids, are suffering from mental stress, as a result of growing pressure to perform well in the studies. Furthermore, this change will provide more time for the children to indulge in other activities. Thus, it could help them in learning new skills and talent. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough examination of the subject, I am inclined to say that the significance of the homework is undeniable and it should remain as a part of today's school education.