In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend towards buying imported food in lieu of locally produced food. This trend can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions should be taken into account to tackle it. There are a number of reasons why people tend to prefer imported food to local one. First, since marketing programs become more popular in our society, imported food manufacturers pay a huge amount of money for these campaigns to target potential customers. Thus, local residents would be more attracted by this kind of food, contributing to their purchasing decisions. Second, by considering health-relating benefits, many people are convinced that imported food is safer than that produced locally. In fact, imported food must experience stricter examination processes before being imported, which allows people purchase them without any health-relating concern. Nevertheless, several ultimate measures could be implemented to tackle this issue. The first solution is that the local producers should pay money to marketing campaigns to attract more local residents. This means that the local products would gain in popularity in these sites, especially the nutrient composition and the process of making those, which is conducive to buying more local food. The second approach is that local manufacturers might improve their quality of food, which ensures more safer products to the customers. For example, if customers make a comparison between the imported products and local ones with the same quality, they might choose the local one thanks to the reasonable price. In conclusion, more and more local people are inclined to buy imported food in lieu of local one due to the lacks of marketing campaigns and the safety regulations of local products. However, the local food producers could take actions to address it.