Some people believe that residents are responsible for the place where they live to be clean and tidy. Others believe that government is the responsible.

Who has the responsibility to maintain the cleanliness and tidiness of the living place has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that locals are responsible for this while others believe it should be done by the government. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspectives in detail before reaching a final verdict. There are various compelling reasons why residents are responsible for this and the prominent one is that the society is consist of each one of us. As a member of the society, we are obligated to secure and improve our living surroundings. To illustrate, we can reduce greenhouse gas emissions by taking public transportations to commute every day. in addition, throwing litter in rubbish bins to keep our roads clean and avoiding the usage of plastic bags to produce less household trashes. As can be seen, these minor actions by everyone can make positive impacts to our environment. However, others oppose this notion and says that it is the government’s duty to keep the environment neat and tidy. It is without a doubt that authorities play a crucial role in securing our living surroundings and we won’t achieve anything without the support of governments. For example, a variety of programmes can be carried out by local authorities to raise the public awareness of sustainable development which enables individuals to be more aware of the significance of environment protection. As can be seen, it is also essential for the government to take participate in this. To sum up, it is argued by some that citizens have duties to keep the place where we live clean and others believe the governments are responsible for this. Taking everything into consideration, I am inclined to say that both perspectives hold equal significance and a close collaboration of both sides can make a big difference.