Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

The debate weather books as a source of entertainment is better for children, as opposed to watching TV or playing video games, has become a matter of discussion for many. I completely disagree with this statement, and, in this essay, I shall analyse and present relevant examples to support my view. To begin with, although, at first it might seems like that children do not benefit from the computer games or television, however, there is an ample evidence that suggests otherwise. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University, showed that those children who regularly play the video games, are more likely to develop a superior hands to eyes coordination. In addition, it also improves the regions of their brain responsible for the critical thinking and decision making. Thus, it is clear that, it could prove beneficial for the younger generation to indulge in such activities in their leisure time. Furthermore, it is undeniable, that books are a good way to improve reading and listening skills of the children, but with the growing entertainment technology and so many options to choose from, it is safe to say, that there are more effective ways to develop such skills. Moreover, now as there is an increasing number of the informative and educating channels are available on the television. It is even more easier than before, to choose the correct option. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to say that the positive aspects of this development surpass the negative points. In the future, we could expect to witness a notable drift in this direction, which may bring significant changes in the viewpoint of the parents.