Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

When books were first invented and became popular, people debated whether they were a better alternative to oral narration. Nowadays, similar debates arose with the emergence of TV and computer games. In this essay, I will argue that each has its strengths and weaknesses and none could replace another. Reading stories can pique children's imagination in ways that visual media cannot. I remember devouring the Harry Potter series and draw up in my mind a whole magical world. I would not have been able to do that if I had watched the movies instead of reading the books first. What is great about books is that they allow readers more time to think and process the information given, and let them come up with their own version of the story. On the other hand, watching TV is better for people who like visuals. Whereas most books challenge readers to contemplate ideas and hidden meanings, TV and movies appeal to human senses, are faster means of information delivery and less demanding on the brain, thus becoming favorite entertainments of many. I have seen people binge-watch famous TV series such as Games of Throne and finish them within a few days. It would take much longer to finish the original books. Computer games, however, are different from both books and TV. Although they are largely seen as a form of entertainment, even the simplest games require coordination skills and some strategic thinking. In that sense, playing games is more active than reading and watching TV. You may also need to work with others in a team towards a shared goal, whilst reading and watching are more of solo activities. In conclusion, I believe that each has its own benefits and drawbacks and appeals to a certain group of people, and that none is better than the others. Children should be exposed to all these forms of media and instructed to consume them moderately. (327 words)