Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV.

It is widely believed that reading books is a better way for people to develop their imagination and language skills, in comparison with watching TV. From my perspective, although I partly agree with this opinion, I would argue that language skills can be acquired more effectively by watching TV, and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, books apparently are better tools than TV to enhance a person’s creativity. It is undeniable that words enable readers to visualize what they read, and there is no restriction to such imaginative thinking. For instance, if two different individuals read the book “One thousand and one nights” simultaneously, it is possible for them to visualize two different images of Aladdin, who is the main character in this story. In contrast, whether a million of people watch the movie “Aladdin” on TV together, the only Aladdin that they can think of afterwards will be the one played by Mena Massoud. This demonstrates that watching TV is overcome by reading books in term of the ability to stimulate one’s imagination. On the other hand, watching TV performs a more important role in learning language skills, compared to reading books. This can be further seen in the fact that TV with sound effects has the capacity to help watchers sharpen their listening and speaking skills efficiently, thereby improving their language comprehension. Perhaps the best example of this is Khanh Vy, who is one of the most well-known teenagers in Viet Nam at the moment thanks to her linguistic ability. She is a dazzling polyglot and fluent in four languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese and Korean. In the TV show “The IELTS workshop” last year, she confessed that she spend about 5 hours on watching movies in foreign languages without subtitles daily, and she believed that it is the best approach for people, especially the young ones, to learn new languages. In conclusion, it seems to me that people should read books in order to develop imagination, while it is better for them to watch TV with the purpose of improving their language skills due to the above-mentioned reasons.