Government should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports.

It is often stated that more money should be invested on academics than on extra curricular activities by the Government. In my opinion, both are equally important, therefore, I disagree with the above statement. Firstly, recreation is important for the mental health. The famous saying " All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" applies to this situation. If an individual spends the whole day studying, he or she will not learn to interact with others which could lead to personality disorders. For example, taking part in sports would develop team spirit or participating in the Art's and Crafts would improve their creative side. In addition, it also assists in improving behaviour and positivity. That is why, it is important that education and recreation is given equal importance, as it would help in the overall mental development of individuals. Secondly, engaging in activities, assists in improving the physical self. Recreation, especially outdoor ones, encourages good physical health by increasing stamina, flexibility, endurance and body strength, to name a few. Moreover, doing physical activities at an early age would imbibe a culture of discipline. For instance, a child who is involved in a sport and regularly practices the same would develop a routine over a period of time. This practice would, in the long run, have a positive impact on the child's lifestyle. Due to which it is important that extra curriculum are given the same value as academics. In light of the above, I strongly believe that recreation should be given the same value as education, as it helps in keeping good mental and physical health.