Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV

There is a widespread saying that books and novels spur the imagination and language skills much more than any TV programme. I believe that this notion holds true no matter what modern technologies are used on TV and TV media production. The reasons are simple, because reading is an active form of learning while watching TV is mostly passive. Reading for pleasure, as an active method of knowledge acquisition, allows people to create and memorize concepts more clearly. Firstly, the text format pushes readers to purposefully, in their minds, convert words into unique images and sentences into motion pictures. For example, the Harry Potter series of novels have allowed fans to create and construct their representation of the wizard world that is filled with magic and spells. Many readers continue to dream up myriads of spin-off stories based on the characters after the final book. Secondly, the process of reading also allows people to learn better by letting people control their own pace of studying. One can pause at any moment to reread, review, absorb new information, and avoid getting overwhelmed. This ability to stop and ponder is particularly helpful when trying to familiarize oneself with a new language. Many studies have shown a strong linkage between time spent reading and vocabulary improvements. Watching TV, on the other hand, does not have any of the aforementioned merits. Viewers can only watch the visualization that is given and predefined by TV programmes. Since no extra effort in thinking is needed, people who watch a lot of TV will most likely be lazy to conceptualize any originality in imagination. For example, if children grow up only watching the Lords of the Rings movies and not knowing the books, they will only have one way, and the same way, of describing a dwarf, an elf or a hobbit. Moreover, the languages used on TV are also mostly informal and straightforward, in tune with the needs to deliver information quickly. Therefore, while the listening skill is likely to improve after prolonged exposure to the TV, not much else can be developed, linguistically. In conclusion, reading books is by far superior to watching TV in terms of creativity and language development because reading gives people total control of their minds. In a world flooded with information, the ability to control your thoughts is the key to improve oneself.