Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV.

It is true that the question of whether people who read books or those watching TV can develop more imagination and language skills remains a resource of controversy in these days. While a number of people believe that reading books is the most effective way to enhance their imagination and language capabilities, I would argue that increasing those skills by watching TV is much more reasonable. On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why people consider reading books as a method to raise their frame of mind and expression skills. Firstly, every book has its own phraseology style with diversified words which helps readers to expand their vocabulary and grammars. As a consequence, language learners can improve their reading and writing skills effectively. Secondly, as books, mainly include the description of authors going along without images or photos, readers aspires to imagine about the book's content and at the same time, build up their own imaginary world of reading. My grandfather also learned Chinese by reading books as his main method to study a new language and due to hard learning, he did it well. On the other hand, I believe that reading limits some skills such as speaking and listening which watching TV can easily help us. For instance, people often just keep their eyes on pages, but not speak out loud while reading books. By contrary, watching TV requires viewers to concentrate on listening and seeing what are going on, that definitely improves their listening skill. Besides, through a Television screen, people can observe speakers’ movement of mouth and emotion, lively scenes and interesting programs which could create an interactive environment for both studying and entertaining regarding to viewer’s purposes. In conclusion, although reading books are advantageous for some people to expand their imagination and language skills, it seems to me that it is better and more interesting way to watch TV to adopt those capabilities.