Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Making the environment better has always been a serious public concern. There are people who believe that significant environmental improvements can only be carried out by the governments and the big corporations. I strongly disagree with such belief as on the contrary to that, individuals have the capacity to make the environment better through a wide array of measures, some of which will be emphasized in his essay. Firstly, some simple changes to our style of living may have great impact on the surrounding local environment. For example, stopping the use of plastic bags and utensils which usually constitute a big burden of any given city waste. Moreover, they are very difficult to recycle. Another lifestyle modification that may not only positively affect the local environment but also a worldwide benefits, is reducing the reliance of private cars and instead utilising the available means of public transport. A move that could lessen the emission of toxic fumes in our streets and in turn reverse the climate change. These are just few out many ways of life adjustments that help cleaning the environment. Secondly, by increasing the public awareness about the environmental problems and their causes, the individuals can unit to change the behaviour of the governments and the companies. For instance, in the local or general elections, the people may choose to vote in the direction that sways the results in favour of the politicians who carry an environment-friendly political agenda. And regarding the effect on companies, boycotting the products of those corps that have not considered environment preservation, is likely to make them reconsider changing their productions plans towards more recyclable and less harmful to environment. Thus, it is clear that people has the upper hand on both of these 2 big players. In conclusion, the individuals have a lot of potential capabilities not only to protect but also to turn the environment better through changing some their deleterious habits and by gathering to back the environmentally aware politicians and economically hurt big polluter companies.