In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Nowadays, many elderly people are likely to spend their retirement period in an aged care. Some argue that the government should fund this department, while others believe that the family should be held responsible. In my opinion, I believe that it should be made private, in order to open more facitlities and to increase better treatments from the workers, which will be discussed further in the essay below. To start with, more facilities can be created if families are paying for this care. For instance, in Australia, many private aged care provides swimming pool, karaoke room and a safety place within their building, in order to maintain the happiness of the elderly. This is due to the accessible saving accounts that allows the organisation to spend it accordingly, rather than waiting for the government's money. Therefore, when the family is responsible to pay, the welfare of the older generation can be secured, as they can use the funding to increase the entertainments easily. In addition, a private retirement house allows the older people to be treated equally by the employees. In 2015, researchers discovered that 95% of the nurses and doctors that work within private hospitals are likely to be nicer and efficient, in comparison to the public hospitals' workers. The main reason is due to the fact that they generally earn higher salaries and time flexibilities, thus allowing them to enjoy their work and be more responsible towards the elderly. Hence, when the families are paying for the retirement house, it can improve the behaviour of the nurses or doctors towards the older generation. To conclude, it is inevitable that age care exists to assist the older people during their last period. However, I strongly encourage famiies to fund for this matter, as it will allow their older relatives to be happier and treated better by the employees.