Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

When discussing whether schools should teach traditional subjects, like history and literature, one should bear in mind the complexity of the issue. Some people think that traditional subjects are important for the child's intellectual development, while others believe that schools should adapt to market changes, and teach practical lessons only. In my opinion, although traditional subjects are important for us as a society, schools and universities should focus on practical courses. In the following essay, I will provide erguments and examples to support my view. One of the main argument in favour of my position, is that due to the rapid technological developments in the last century, traditional courses, like history and language, have become obsulete and are no longer relevant. With the introduction of ground breaking inventions like the computer, internet and cellular phone, many functions that were performed manually are now done automatically. Students nowadays do not need to learn a new language in order to read a medical research, because it can be translated through the internet. Similarly, computers can calculate difficult mathematical formulas instantly, and so there is no need to learn how to calculate it by hand. This example demonstrates that, as a result of technolgical developments, traditional subject are less needed than before. Another view supporting my opinion is that over the years, the amount of professional knowledge has increased exponentially. Consequently, students need to know much more before entering the job market, which requires a longer learning duration. This can be reduced by replacing traditional subjects with professional classes, that will assist students gaining the required knowledge. For example, over the last 30 years the duration of medical education remained similar. The amount of medical data, however has tripled. As a result, students are forced to learn much more in the same time period. By reducing calsses such as physics and mathematics, medical students will be able to spend more time on practical subjects. This will allow students to become much more knowledgable when entering the job market. In conclusion, schools and universities should change their teaching paradigm and adapt to the local economic changes. Technological developments and increased basic requirements before entering the job market are some of the main reasons for the required change. Schools should assist the students and help them be prepared for the job market.