Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will drive more benefits from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics, electricity engineering or cooking.

Nowadays, the question of whether students should learn academic subjects, such as chemistry, physics and history or practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although studying academic subjects is not without advantages, vocational subjects will be far more considered. There are a variety of reasons for studying academic subjects. First, since most graduates expect to land decent jobs down the road, having access to academic courses is necessary. In fact, most high-salaried workers are required to have a complex understanding of their disciplines, which can only be achieved if they have taken academic subjects. Second, by learning these subjects, students can continue higher education. This means that they are armed with the fundamental knowledge to do research or study, which is conducive to human innovations and developments later. On the other hand, there are a great number of reasons why students had better choose vocational subjects to study. First, in order to make a living as soon as possible, students should learn practical courses rather than academic ones. For example, motor mechanic classes in schools provide students with mechanical knowledge and practical skills such as fixing a motor or assembling the parts of a motor, which helps students find it easy to have a job after graduating from the school and earn money to feed themselves and their family. Second, if more and more students gained a wealth of practical knowledge and had work experience through vocational courses in schools, a balance of the labour market would be reached on an international scale. Plenty of evidence shows that there are a number of developed countries such as Japan, Australia, Canada and so on lacking unskilled and skilled workers who do manual jobs, hence hiring foreign employees, which contributes to global labor market equilibrium. In conclusion, both views mentioned are well-grounded. By considering the pros and cons of each kind of subject, students will make the best decision for them.