Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking.

Nowadays, the question of whether students should learn academic subjects, such as chemistry, physics and history, or practical ones such as motor mechanics and cooking has received a great deal of public attention. Although studying academic subjects is not without advantages, vocational courses will be far more considered. There are a number of reasons why students should be taught academic subjects at schools. First, since most graduates expect to apply for decent jobs in the future, having access to academic courses is necessary. In fact, most demanding jobs with handsome salary like educators or doctors, are required to have a complex understanding of their disciplines, which can only achieve if they have taken academic course such as Maths or Physics. Second, by learning these subjects, students would have a chance to pursue higher education. This means that they are aimed with the fundamental knowledge to do research or study, which is beneficial for humans’ innovation and development later. Nevertheless, there are various benefits of vocational courses. Firstly, in order to make a living as soon as possible, studying practical subjects are necessary. In fact, vocational trainings provide learners a number of practical skills without spending four or five years in the university, which is time - saving and enable them to find a job to make ends meet. Secondly, solid practical experience is one of the most important things to promote one’s career path. For example, in order to be a restaurant manager, they are required to gain a number of years of experience, which is not consider to the bachelor’s degree. In conclusion, we can not deny that both sides are well-grounded. In my opinion, besides academic subjects, students should be taught practical ones which generate plenty of benefits for both students and nations.