In several countries around the world students take a year off between high school and university in order to travel, work or volunteer. However, in most countries students go straight to university after graduating.

What should students all over the world do between high school and university is a topic of debate. While some people are of the opinion that there are seemingly valid reasons to go straight to university, I think that more benefits are brought by taking a gap year. There is a common belief that students need to head straight to university after the high school. To begin, young people get a few years of study. By doing this, the sooner they get started, the sooner they will finish and dedicate their skills to practice. In addition, they are in study mode. Students have been in the momentum of studying for 12+ years – they know the exams and assignments well. Therefore, they should study straight away, stay focused on their long-term goals. On the other hand, I would argue that travelling, working or volunteering for a year before starting university is a far better way to be mature. One major reason for this is that travelling broadens the mind of people. Such trips are not only fun, but also helps them to discover their real passion. For example, students who travel to different places get a chance to socialise with different types of people and cultures, engage in volunteering and this may improve their knowledge and experience. Furthermore, working before starting university reduces the financial burden of higher education to an extent. If young people earn some money when they work before joining the university, this money can be used to pay their university fees.