Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects such as motor mechanics and cooking.

Although it is sometimes believed that schools ought to teach more of theoretical subjects, other people think that practical subjects will be more beneficial to students. In my opinion, I consider that hands-on subjects such as cooking or motor mechanics will help students acquire skills that are relevant for their financial future. On the one hand, those who say that theory based subjects are more useful to students might argue that these courses lay the foundation for innovations and inventions. This is because they expose the minds of students to intricate concepts on the workings of our world and universe and as a result they can unveil knowledge which proffer solutions to societal problems. For instance, previous studies have shown that pupils who learn world history often make competent political leaders as they understand patterns of successful and failed governments and can therefore exploit such patterns to benefit their citizens. On the other hand, others suppose and I agree, that applied learning in areas such as cooking, sewing, motor mechanics e. t. c. , is essential for students’ future financial well-being. The reason for this is that these lessons afford pupils with skills which they can exchange for money while attending college, or generally, whether they obtain tertiary education or not. For example, recent studies by the World Trade Organisation (WTO) indicate that 58% of high school graduates who become entrepreneurs, do so with the skills that they learned while schooling. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that students stand a better chance of succeeding financially, if they are taught real-world subjects while in school.