Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet.

While some think that individuals are responsible for looking after wellbeing, there are others who argue that the authorities ought to play their role in ensuring this issue. However, I tend to agree that both of them should be involved in this process. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. With regards to the individuals, they are often considered as the main factor in determining what diet and lifestyle would be choosen for themselves. This is mainly because their determination and knowledge on this topic is vital on this decision. For example, there are many people determinated to make exercises to stay fit and also who choose a healthy diet, which is mainly composed of green vegetables and low carbohydrates. So, it is their own desire and attitude which make the difference between a prominent and a harmful lifestyle. Although, the government encouraged these healthy option, people would be more likely to follow their own mindset. On the other hand, the authorities might be fully equipped with the proper means to promote healthy habits. Not only by raising awareness against the side-effects of unhealthy life, but also by imposing heavy taxes on sugary and fatty foods, they can orientate their citizens towards these choises. To illustrate this point, we can consider the case of Japan and Singapore, which educate children in school on how to be fit and healthy by motivating them on consuming organic foods. If the government did not give priority in this regards, their people`s well-being would be put in jeopardy, thus compromising their mental and physical health as well. In conclusion, although many attribute their well-beings solely to themselves, as individuals, others state that government should also be in charge for this issue. Personally, I advocate that both of them should commit to targets toward a healthy lifestyle.